The Illinois Press Foundation is dedicated to promoting and protecting free expression through educational activities that foster the practice and respect of First Amendment principles and values, to enhance the quality of services provided by newspapers to their communities, and to support reading and literacy efforts.


The IPF was established in 1982 as the charitable arm of the IPA.


The Illinois Press Foundation awarded three scholarships to graduate students in the Public Affairs Reporting Program at the University of Illinois Springfield. They are pictured with foundation board President Jerry Reppert, publisher of Reppert Publications in Anna. Left to right: Mary Hansen, Beaver, Penn., Sarah Mueller, Arlington, Tx., Reppert, and Celeste Bott, Warren, Mich. The Illinois Press Foundation awards the scholarships annually.

All three will be serving state Capitol reporting internships: Hansen with the Arlington Heights Daily Herald, Mueller with Illinois Issues magazine, and Bott with The Chicago Tribune. 

  • Joyce McCullough, LaSalle NewsTribune

  • Mike Feltes, News Media Corp., Rochelle

  • James Middleton (L) and David Larson, Boone County Journal, Belvidere

  • Frank Schier (center) & Staff, Rock River Times, Rockford

  • Todd Wessell, Journal & Topics Newspapers, Des Plaines

  • Brian Nadig, Nadig Newspapers, Chicago

  • Dan Haley (L) and Andy Johnston, Wednesday Journal, Oak Park

  • Bill Garth, Chicago Citizen Newspapers

  • Britton Zink (L) & Cheryl Ayers, Fox Valley News Shopper, Yorkville

  • Michael James (R) & Andrew Samaan, Voyager Media, Plainfield

  • Paul Ping and Steve Rensberry of the Troy Times-Tribune